Web_D273213lMOTOCROSS star Adam Monea, from Koo Wee Rup, won the Professional Open class by 52 points at the final round of the 2013 Victorian Senior Motocross Championships at the Korumburra Motorcycle Club’s Outtrim circuit on Sunday, August 2. Monea was disappointed with his last race of the year where he finished second, but was otherwise happy he took out the championship in the state’s premier motocross competition. “I was really happy with how I rode in the first race, which I won, but I was pretty disappointed with myself that I didn’t finish the season off with a win,” Monea said.

Last year’s champion Sam Martin, from Fish Creek, finished runner-up overall this time round and Alex Norris finished in third on 156 points. Albury’s Kirsty Gillespie made motocross history by winning her eighth championship in a row in the Ladies class. She took out the title by 17 points over Maddison Brown and Courtney Whyte-Dennis. Victorian motocross rising star Tomas Ravenhorst won the A-Lites class by 49 points; he also finished runner-up by just three points to fellow young gun Jack Simpson in the Under 19s Expert class. Dumbalk’s Nick Stewart was only a few points behind Ravenhorst in the A Lites in second overall. Stewart’s younger brother Wayne also performed well, coming second in the B Lites category. Matt Hair won the A Grade Open class by seven points over Matt Ginders and Michael Crugnale. Dylan Long won Professional Lites class by 20 points over fellow MX Nationals competitor Kade Mosig and Jack Simpson.

Korumburra Motorcycle Club president Graham Bird was thrilled with how the competition went over the weekend, despite the rain. “We were a little worried with how the track would hold up after the rain on Friday, but it’s in excellent condition – almost as good as our Gippsland Round, when we had 450 riders. “We had fantastic conditions and a fantastic competition. “Unfortunately, the weather came in on Saturday night and Sunday morning, which made it a bit more difficult for the riders today. “That’s when the skilled riders really shine through.” But recognising tough conditions are a reality of motocross, Bird said the club was comfortable the track would recover in time for the club championships and an upcoming come and try day. Bird was pleased the club was chosen as a host for the state titles. “We’ve always known our track is one of the best – and that’s a credit to the award-winning track crew, but hosting the state titles does add some prestige,” he said. Following on from the racing over the weekend, Bird said the club will be informed of its application to host the junior state titles shortly.

Pro Open: Adam Monea, Sam Martin, Alex Morris. A Open: Matt Hair, Matt Ginders, Michael Crugnale. A Lites: Tomas Ravenhorst, Nick Stewart, Peter Toohey. Pro Lites: Dylan Long, Kade Mosig, Jack Simpson. B Lites: James Alen, Wayne Stewart, Jake Salems. C Open: Luke Ablitt, Lee Mayers, Matt Marsili. C Lites: Darren Grattan, John Elsbury, Kaye Wilkinson. Under 19s Expert: Jack Simpson, Tomas Ravenhorst, James Alen. Under 19s Clubman: Kye Wilkinson, Jack Davey, Acland Rush. Ladies Expert: Kristy Gillespie, Maddison Brown, Courtney Whyte-Dennis. Ladies Clubman: Natasha Sant, Kate Norman, Madison Bird. Over 30s Expert: Craig Rutherford, Andrew Shacklock, Stephen Square. Over 30s Clubman: Leigh Gill, Travis Clark, Adam Harland. Over 40s Expert: Mike Reefman, James Graham, Denis Casey. Over 40s Clubman: Daryl Hooton, Rodney Gouller, Dean Smith.