Web_j093713By James Brosnan

KORUMBURRA-Bena ruckman Mark Bradley won his second Peter Moore Medal as Alberton League’s Best and Fairest player at the Wonthaggi Town Hall on Sunday. Bradley first claimed the prestigious award as a Bulldog back in 2006. Bradley is the second consecutive ruckman to win the award after Fish Creek’s Travis Manne last year. The large crowd hung on every vote as it came down to the final card between Bradley and Phillip Island’s James Taylor.

Bradley picked up three votes to win the count with 26 from Taylor on 24. The pair led the count from Kilcunda-Bass teammates Ryan Fitzgerald and Chris Endres, who finished on 20 votes along with Foster coach Shem Hawking.  Yarram’s Chris Bruns and Kilcunda-Bass ruckman Ben Law (18), Dalyston’s James Ross, Brad Fisher and Toora’s Matt Harris (17) rounded out the top 10. Bradley accepted the award thanking the Korumburra-Bena FNC, where he returned this year after a stint with Warragul.  The ruckman said he didn’t expect to poll any votes and quickly congratulated the Kilcunda-Bass table before stating a premiership medal this season was the ultimate goal.

Korumburra-Bena also claims the winner of the Chris Tudor Memorial Trophy as the Reserve’s best and fairest player after Dylan Muir comfortably won the award. Muir won the award on 23 votes ahead of his coach and last year’s winner Jimmy Kyle on 17. Dalyston and Inverloch-Kongwak ruckmen, Kurt Thomas and Cameron Allum both polled 16 votes ahead of Foster’s Brendon Weston on 15. Phillip Island’s Tom Cole (14), Tarwin’s Paul McRae and Vaughan Van Dillen polled 13 along with PI’s Kevin Taylor with fellow Bulldog Bill Richardson making up the top 10 on 12.

MDU’s Sam Wilson claimed the Jack Brewer Memorial Trophy as the third’s best and fairest player. Trailing by three votes from Foster’s Trent Hamilton after Round 15, Wilson stormed home with three best on ground performances to finish on 27 votes. Hamilton finished on 25 ahead of Jack Homer from Kilcunda-Bass on 20. In the top 10 was Dalyston’s Michael McCoy, Toora’s Kyle Holmes, MDU’s Jake McMillan (19), Fish Creek’s Jayden O’Sullivan (16), Foster’s Mitchell Green (15), Toora’s Ben Doran (14) and Korumburra-Bena’s Jack Harris (13).

Thwaites wins
Tarwin’s Luke Thwaites was awarded the Alberton Football League Rising Star award after a standout season both with his club and for the league. Thwaites was among the standouts in the Alberton interleague matches this season, and was a star for the Sharks playing all 18 senior games.  He won the award ahead of fellow nominees Gus Staley and Ethan Park (Fish Creek), Louis Rodaughan (Yarram) and Jacob Dakin (Kilcunda-Bass).

Team of the year
Alberton’s team of the year was announced on the day, selected by the league from the best performers from each club. Kilcunda-Bass coach Dean Alger was named coach of the side with Phillip Island’s James Taylor and Yarram’s Griffin Underwood named captain and vice-captain respectively. The side is from the backline: Scott Braithwaite (Kor-Bena), Jack Moore (Yar), Rogan Jennings (Dal); half back: Chad Macri (FC), Jay Neagle (Kor-Bena), Shem Hawking (Fos); centres; Chris Endres (Kil-Bass), James Taylor (PI), Tom McDermott (MDU); half forward; Chris Terlich (IK), Brad Fisher (Dal), Chris Bruns (Yar); forwards; Mitch Price (PI), Kael Bergles, Jason Wells (Kil-Bass); rucks; Mark Bradley (Kor-Bena), Ryan Fitzgerald (Kil-Bass), Griff Underwood (Yar); interchange; Sam Marriott (SC), James Ross (Dal) and Travis Cameron (Tar). The last item of the day was the traditional coin toss for home short/rooms in the senior grand final on Saturday. Kilcunda-Bass’ Les Watson won the toss and was quick to select the Panthers blue home shorts – keeping the trend of the last two grand finals which left Korumburra-Bena to use Wonthaggi Power’s home rooms all day on Saturday.