all-star-christmas-at-nyoraThe Rosedale All-Star winner Matthew Reed and series points leader will be in action on Friday night. Photo’s courtesy of Inaction Photos (

THE All-Star Sprintcars will blast into town for the annual big bash at Nyora Raceway on Friday, December 27.
And while three of the four rounds contested have been won by South Australian drivers, this month will see some Victorian and maybe even some local redemption with series leader and Scoresby resident Matthew Reed driving Ken Hutchins’ #49 in hot form having won the last round at nearby Rosedale raceway and then following that up with a tough grind to a podium finish last weekend at Hamilton for the Gold Cup behind a couple of front starting Americans.
A slender few points behind in the championship but an absolute local legend is Tony Moule in the Dave Argus owned #26.
The former 360 National Champion has had a couple of runner-up finishes so far this championship.
Moule also won this event just 12 months ago adding more weight to his favouritism.
Defending series champion Brad Foster is also a local from just down the road and should be suited to the venue.
Throw in former champion Paul Solomon, former Victorian Champion Chris Solomon, multiple state Sportsman (now Wingless Sprints) Champion Phil Lock, Australian AMCA Nationals Champion Mark Weaver, and the rest of the field and you have a very solid and even field that could easily spring some surprises.
The V8 Dirt Modifieds will continue the beautiful bellow of V8-engined open wheeled beasts as they contest their annual ‘Grand in the Hand’.
Local support will be spread across veteran Lloyd Hobson, his daughter Ebony and club favourite Daryl Hickson.
It will also be great to see class stalwart Murray Atkin back behind the wheel while last year’s winner Mick Kiraly will be looking for a repeat.
Supporting the winged action will be VSC Open sedans where the return of track maestro Simon Bent in his Falcon is eagerly awaited. He will take on last start podium getters Mark Miles and Dale Meade amongst others which include local Ash England.
Sibling rivalry will continue with the brother and sister combo of Seth and Shona Bent doing battle in the 120cc Junior Sedans. Shona was the only driver to beat Seth at the last meeting although Seth did win the main event. Josh Stewart, Zoe Young and Jack Van Bremen will all be trying hard to banish the Bents’ from victory lane.
Check the Raceway’s new website at or on facebook.
Race dates for the 2013/2014 season includes Friday night, Saturday, February 1, Saturday, February 22, Saturday, March 15, Sunday, April 27, Sunday, May 18 and Sunday, June 29.