ely-aces-all-stars-at-nyoraChad Ely shows the speed and form that won him the feature event. Photo courtesy Kieran Swanson – Pirate Media.

SOUTH Australian Invader Chad Ely easily beat a top field of local guns on his way to victory in round five of the Allstars Sprintcars Championship at Nyora Raceway on Friday night.
Ely was able to marginally extend his championship points lead finishing ahead of veteran Mark Weaver and points challenger Matthew Reed.
In the other main event Paul Tindall took a narrow and exciting win from local hero Daryl Hickson and Mick Kiraly.
Late entrant Jamie Paull took out the VSC Sedan feature while Caleb Lincoln and Jackson Lunt were superb in a close and hard fought junior sedan final.
In the now annual event the Sprintcar Allstars made their post-Christmas trek to the racy Gippsland speedbowl and thrilled a large crowd of holiday guests.
After starting from the number one position Chad Ely was unstoppable leading every one of the 30 laps aided in part by the fact that Weaver who was running second was possibly holding back Reed who try as he did, could not effect a pass on Weaver.
Behind the top three came Kerang’s Zac Farrer, American Geoff Ensign, Simpsons Phil Lock, Kyneton’s Mick Cunningham, Drouin’s defending series champion Brad Foster and the Gisborne pairing of former series champs Paul Solomon and Harley Bishop. Throw in Mark King from Humpty Doo in Darwin and it was a truly cosmopolitan field.
Adelaide’s’ Shannon Barry had started the night setting fast time and winning the first heat while Cory McCullagh, Bishop, Reed, Farrer and Chris Solomon scored the remaining heats.
Terang’s “Wild” Bill Fraser won the B-Main from Paul Solomon, South Aussie Jed Bell and Werribee’s David Aldersley.
The V8 Dirt Modifieds were the other main part of this annual speedfest as they contested the Mornington Garden Supplies “Grand in the Hand” contest.
Paul Tindall in the GDL Excavations #17 led from start to finish however, when his tyres went off late in the main event Daryl Hickson (Mornington Garden Supplies #92) and last year’s winner Mick Kiraly made it a three way battle to the chequered flag.
Behind them came Darren Clarke, Darren Tindall, Trevor Perry, Andrew Katz and Ebony Hobson.
Paul Tindall had earlier won two heats while Clarke had scored the other win.
A good field of 1200cc Junior Sedans were on hand and as is often the case the racing here was fantastic and faultless belying the young age and inexperience of the 12 to 16 year olds.
Good mates Caleb Lincoln and Jackson Lunt went at it hammer and tong in the main event with side by side battles for the lead with Lincoln just getting the upper hand by the end with Lunt second ahead of Shona and Seth Bent.
Josh Stewart had an exciting night when he managed to roll his #31 after hooking a rut.
Lincoln had won both of the heats from Lunt.
The big boy VSC Sedan event was won by Rosedale’s’ Jamie Paull who only decided to enter the event on Christmas day.
Local ace Dale Mead was a close second with Redlines’ Corey Gantley completing the podium. Damien Miller won the first heat before rolling in the second heat which was won by Paull.
Nyora Raceway now has a short summer break before action recommences on February 1.