san-remo-takes-two-out-of-threeThe San Remo Bowling Club was crowned Division 1 winners of the Tuesday Pennant Grand Final last Tuesday defeating Wonthaggi 84 to 71. C090814.

THE Tuesday Pennant Bowls came to a conclusion last week with the grand finals being played at Korumburra.
The finals were played over three Tuesdays, with the competition throwing up a few surprise results.
Division 1 ladder saw Wonthaggi 1 in top position with San Remo in second spot, Meeniyan third and Phillip Island fourth.
The Division 1 semi-finals at Korumburra saw Wonthaggi 1 beat San Remo and go straight to the grand final, Meeniyan were beaten by Phillip Island and were out of contention.
San Remo and Phillip Island contested the Preliminary final, also at Korumburra, the following week.
The grand final, in the third week, again at Korumburra, saw a good battle between Wonthaggi 1 and San Remo with Wonthaggi 1 holding the edge on two rinks.
However the third rink went San Remo’s way thus getting them over the line; San Remo 84 defeated Wonthaggi 71.
The Division 2 ladder saw Leongatha finish well on top after a strong season.
Inverloch finished second with Port Welshpool third and Corinella fourth.
The semi-finals, held at Fish Creek saw some close results with Inverloch edging out Leongatha by one shot and Corinella beating Port Welshpool by two shots.
Port Welshpool were finished for the pennant season and Inverloch were through to the final.
The Preliminary final, at Korumburra, saw Leongatha reassert their dominance with Corinella regrouping for next season.
The grand final again at Korumburra, was a seesawing match, with Leongatha winning over Inverloch; Leongatha 76 defeated Inverloch 64.
The Division 3 ladder saw Mirboo North finish in top spot after a dominant season.
San Remo was in second place with Leongatha and Wonthaggi rounding out the four.
In the semi-final at Korumburra, San Remo defeated Mirboo North and Wonthaggi won by a narrow measure on the last bowl of the day over Leongatha ladies.
The preliminary final, at Korumburra, went to Mirboo North over Wonthaggi.
The grand final, saw one rink even all game but the other was definitely in favour of San Remo with San Remo achieving the win; San Remo 58 defeated Mirboo North 35.

Official results: Division 1: San Remo 84 d Wonthaggi(1) 71; S Carvosso 19 lt A Green 27, R Dennis 25 lt K Simpson 26, J Allen-Dayle 40 d J Clarkson 18.
Division 2: Leongatha 76 d Inverloch 64; G Trotman 29 d M Flett 22, T McCormack 23 d J Arnold 19, J Pursell 24 d D Patterson 23.
Division 3: San Remo 58 d Mirboo North 35; W Brunsden 31 d M Briscoe 10, J Farquhar 27 d A Plowman 25.