cyclists-race-the-clockThe Junior B one-lap handicap saw Kaleb Jans (15) flash home to take the win ahead of Michael Eastwood (25) and Fleur Timmins (10). 

FRIDAY night was a short night of racing as the Leongatha Cycling Club held a sausage sizzle after riding to celebrate Christmas.
With a cool and breezy night it was not conducive to great times, however there were 19 starters which was good for this time of the year.
Thomas McFarlane was in Melbourne National Omnium Titles over Thursday and Friday whilst Austin Timmins was also out as he had to be in Melbourne for a Saturday 9am start.
The Austral wheelrace and further titles were also listed for Saturday.
Thomas McFarlane has put in a great two days over six events and just missed on a podium in the event.
His results in the six events are: Scratch race – 4th, Pursuit -12th, Elimination -3rd, Time Trial – 3rd, Flying lap – 5th, Points race – 4th.
In the flying lap he was just 0.19sec behind the winner.
So a better pursuit and a touch better in the flying lap and he would have been right in contention. However, it was a great effort for the first year in this age division.
The first event on Friday night was the one lap time trial and the juniors keep improving.
They need to get the start right, get up to speed and hold a good line to the finish.
Josh Wight, Kaleb Jans, Oliver McLean, Thomas Fitzgerald, Michael Eastwood and Jack Allen all set new personal bests.
In the Junior B four-lap scratch race, Oliver McLean once again controlled the race winning from Thomas Fitzgerald and Fleur Timmins.
These three moved away at the front whilst others were watching the tail end of the field.
In the Junior A Grade five-lap scratch race, Grace McLean made the move at the bell.
She was rounded up down the back straight by Alex Bennett and Bernadette Fitzgerald and looked to be well done but challenged again into the finish straight.
She managed to get past Alex but could not quite catch Bernadette.
In the Senior eight-lap scratch race, the pace was consistent until the last lap dash.
Steve Allen grabbed the win ahead of Dylan Adams and Harrison McLean.
The Junior B one-lap handicap saw Kaleb Jans (15) flash home to take the win ahead of Michael Eastwood (25) and Fleur Timmins (10).
In the re-run race it was Grace Allen (50) leading all the way who took the win.
Josh Wight (45) chased hard but could not quite bridge the gap but held on for second whilst Oliver McLean (Scr) came around the field to take third.
In the Junior A Grade one-lap handicap race, Bernadette Fitzgerald (Scr) was causing the handicapper some problems as she quickly caught the others to win from Katherine Fitzgerald (30) and Grace McLean (10).
In the second attempt to change the results the extra chased made no difference as it was Bernadette taking the second win with Grace McLean (15) second and Alex Bennett (30) third.
The Senior one-lap handicap saw Dylan Adams (25) take the win from Rob Waddell(35) and Michael Park (15) in third place.
The seniors managed to get a couple of sprint heats in before the sausages were cooked.
In the first Steve Allen jumped the others at the bell and had an easy win over Dylan and Michael.
In the second heat Harrison Mclean was too quick for Rob and Kevin Feely.
The club takes a Christmas break until racing resumes on January 16.
Training should be on Wednesday, January 14.
The break will see Stuart Smith competing in the National Road Titles at Ballarat on January 10.