bogucki-to-the-top-at-nyoraScott Bogucki was the Nyora Allstar Sprintcar Feature winner on Saturday, December 27. Photo courtesy Inaction Photos.

IN the annual big bash at Nyora Raceway on Saturday, December 27, it was South Australian Scott Bogucki and Victorian Daniel Scott who came out the big winners in the Sprintcar Allstars and V8 Dirt Modified divisions respectively.
Bogucki improved his points lead in the Allstar championship chase with a flag to flag victory in the 30 lap A-Main.
Similarly Scott’s win in the V8 Dirt Modified Mornington Motors “Grand in the Hand” was just as dominant.
A big field of Sprintcars were on hand to excite the large crowd, and the action was first class with a few spins and crashes eliminating a number of cars throughout the night, the most spectacular being Colin Barker who upended his machine after contact with the front straight wall during the main event.
It was in the second set of heats where Bogucki set up his night, running the previously unheard of mid to high track line, lap after lap, through turns 3 and 4 and making good forward progress from eighth to third on a difficult track.
The B-Main was taken out by Chris Solomon, Brad Foster, Brett Milburn, Ross Jarred and Harley Bishop.
In the 30 lap final Bogucki launched off the line and opened up a sizeable lead from the squabbling pack behind, but as the race drew on to its final 1/3rd lap traffic came into play and Williams was able to close in and even draw alongside with just three laps left to run.
Bogucki was confident no one was going to be able to pass him on the outside and held his line to take the win with Brenten Farrer grabbing second.
For the V8 Dirt Modifieds it was another solid hit out ahead of next month’s Aussie Championship and Daniel Scott was the dominant man in the main event going on to take the win from last year’s victor Paul Tindal with Brett Clarke completing the podium.
Young racer Kasey Garlick scored her second feature win and first at Nyora in the 1200cc Junior Sedans after a very smooth and faultless night which included both heat wins.
In the VSC Sedans it was Tim McPherson who took the big trophy after the race was declared a lap or two early in a controversial decision.
McPherson was out front leaving Brendan Miller and Shona Bent in a fight for second and as the pair entered turn one Miller turned in not realizing that Bent was half a car length up the inside.
The contact saw Miller’s left rear tyre deflate and he spun causing the yellow flag and the declaration.
The controversial part of the event was when Bent was deemed to be the cause of the accident and excluded from what might have been the runner-up position.
Miller was reinstated back to second with David Donegan grabbing the final podium position.
The next event at Nyora will be on February 7 with a big mixed program including the Victorian Championship for Mini Sprints and the Miles Cup for Standard Saloons.