Grace-under-fire-in-wild-surfDespite the wild surf conditions more than 100 competitors took part in the 19th Cape Aquathon on Sunday morning.

WILD surf conditions did not stop 115 competitors hitting the water and pavement for the 19th annual Cape Aquathon on Sunday.
This year saw a large number of locals and holiday makers take part in the event as both competitors and volunteers.
Athletes travelled from across the state to take part in the event which includes a 400m surf swim followed by a 3.5km run around the Cape Paterson Estate.
It is one of the three races in the Bass Coast Summer Series.
It is also the Cape Paterson Surf Lifesaving Club’s major fundraiser as they try to build funds for a desperately needed new clubhouse.
Among Sunday’s achievements were Jennifer Dodd, from Murrumbeena, and Steve Kenny, from Krowera, who completed their 10th consecutive Cape Aquathon.
Jim Corbett, Zac Gilmour, Jenny Hollins, Alexander Papadopoulos, Cheryl Rule and Ryan Smith completed their fifth consecutive Cape Aquathon.
In 19:36 minutes, Kernot’s Mark Rowe was first male home and overall winner.
Edithvale’s Grace Devesen, in 20:04, was the winning overall and senior female winner with local Chloe Butt just behind her in 20:14, taking out the first local home prize.
Junior Male winner was Mitch Diston 22:56 while Junior Female winner was Zoe Bee from Cowes in 32:18.
Masters: Male Mack Clarkson, from Blackburn, 20:17; Masters Female Sarah Marshall, from Cowes, 31:48.
Veterans: Male Jim Corbett, from Cape Woolamai, 25:25; Veterans Female Janice Stephens, in the event’s biggest ever female veteran’s field, in 28:20
In the teams male category Phillip Island’s Luke Plant and Alex Durand blitzed the field in a very fast 18:13
While for the female teams, Bernadette and Ashley Spinks won again in 27:07.
Teams Mixed was won by Tom Beischer and Carly Heislers, from Wonthaggi and Kilcunda, in 22:27.