bowls_0915Division 1 winners, Phillip Island, back, from left, Russell Taylor, John Batty, Daryl Major, Matt Allan, David Hanlon and Peter Forrest. Front, Russell May, Hans Olierook, Arthur Denny, Kevin Wagner, John Newcombe and Graeme Cornell.

FOR the fifth time in-a-row, Phillip Island and Inverloch faced off in the Division One, South Gippsland District Bowls Association final, and typically it was a tight affair.
In the end, Phillip Island won the day by nine shots, breaking a deadlock in results in recent years of two pennants a-piece but there were moments in the day when the result could have gone either way.
Played at Leongatha, the match attracted a big crowd, as it has done on each occasion but it was the strong Island combination which took home the chocolates.
The day’s results were as follows (see club notes for details):
Div 1: (At Leongatha) Phillip Island 14-71 d Inverloch 2-62
Div 2: (At Leongatha) Loch 14-75 d San Remo 2-61
Div 3: (At Leongatha) Tarwin Lower 13-65 d Wonthaggi 3-59
Div 4: (At Leongatha) Port Welshpool 12-70 d Phillip Island 4-69
Div 5: (At Leongatha) Tarwin Lower 16-74 d Wonthaggi 0-54
Well, that’s it for the bowls reports from South Gippsland Bowls Division, which wishes to express its thanks to all bowlers who have competed in the 2014/2015 pennant season for their dedication and commitment to the clubs they have represented.
There is still plenty of bowls to be played though before the season ends in late April.
For the other division winners, see page 62.