NerrenaNerrena’s premiership winning team, from left, back, coach Josh Trease, Brock Hastings, Nick Battersby, James Kelly, Rohen Baudinette, Josh Hastings, Nathan Trotto; front, Jacob Beckwith, Hayden Funnell, Ben Perry, Dylan Clark, Shem Murphy and Jack Hume.

NERRENA has won the Leongatha and District Cricket Association Under 16 grand final after a thrilling match against Poowong-Loch at the East Campus ground in Leongatha on Sunday.
It was a fascinating game of cricket between two clubs that did not have Under 16 teams two years ago.
A very good crowd supported both teams and it was great to see senior club players supporting the Under 16s during the day.
The two association umpires Neil Grabham and Ian Thomas umpired well and added to the game’s presentation while the Imperials’ ground was immaculate as always.
Poowong-Loch won the toss and batted with Aaron Bardwell (7) and Jordy Knox (10) opening the batting with Ben Perry and Brock Hastings taking the new ball for Nerrena.
Aaron and Jordy added 17 before Aaron was caught in slips off first change bowler James Kelly.
Matty Allen (5) replaced Aaron but at 26 was bowled by Nathan Trotto – one of his four wickets.
Next ball Jake Henry was LBW for 0 without offering a shot and suddenly Poowong-Loch was 3/26.
When they lost Jordy bowled straight after drinks and Brad Monson (4) caught by Jacob Beckwith off James Kelly Poowong-Loch were struggling at 5/36.
But Jesse Patullo (19) and Aiden Johnson (5) knuckled down against some hostile but wayward bowling and added 34 for the sixth wicket before Johnson was caught and bowled from a good diving catch by Jack Hume.
Cody Loughridge (19) joined Jesse and they added 13 before Jesse was caught by Rohen Baudinette off Dylan Clark.
Jacob Patullo (8 not out) and Cody added 19 before Cody was caught and bowled by Nathan Trotto for a gutsy 19 with the score on 8/103.
Bodie Motton (2no) and Jacob batted out the 50 overs with Poowong-Loch finishing with 8/107.
It was a determined effort by the Poowong-Loch boys to bat their 50 overs against a solid Nerrena attack which at times was wayward with 10 no balls and 14 wides.
Nathan Trotto bowled well with 4/23, James Kelly 2/14, Jack Hume 1/8 and Dylan Clark 1/14.
Nerrena’s Jack Hume (7) and James Hastings (7) opened the batting against Brad Monson and Jesse Patullo.
Jesse struck first bowling Hume and when Brad bowled Hastings Nerrena was 2/27.
Ben Perry (13) and Jacob Beckwith (16) added 24 before Jacob was caught by Jake Henry and when Ben was caught in the slips by Matty Allen off Jacob Patullo with the score at 4/55, the score of 107 looked very competitive.
James Kelly (17) and Nathan Trotto (15) added 26 before Nathan was caught by Jesse Patullo off Jordy Knox with the score 5/81.
Hayden Funnell (6) joined Kelly and they added 17 before Kelly was caught behind by Cody Loughridge and when Brock Hastings (0) was also caught by Cody first ball, suddenly Nerrena was 8/99.
Nick Battersby was dropped first ball following another crucial catch dropped a couple overs earlier.
Overs were not going to be a problem. It was two wickets or nine runs to decide the premiers.
Some very tight bowling and a few singles here than there added to the tension but it was Nerrena in the 47th over hitting a four to third man getting home eight down.
Poowong/Loch wicket-takers: Matty Allen 3/16, Jake Patullo 2/18, Brad Monson 1/30, Jesse Pattullo 1/8 and Jordy Knox 1/7. There was two no balls and 15 wides.
A great game played in the right spirit by both sides and either side would have been worthy premiers.
Full credit to both coaches, Nerrena’s Josh Trease and Poowong-Loch’s Colin Knox.
Nathan Trotto was named man of the match by the umpires and premiership medallions were presented by league president Russell Matthews.