LEONGATHA Town all-rounder, Amila Ratnaike, has been rewarded for his outstanding season in 2014-15 by being named in the Victorian Country Cricket League Team Of The Year.
Ratnaike, who is set to return to the local competition in October, was the runaway winner of the top award in the Leongatha and District Cricket Association’s competition.
And his form has also stood up statewide.
Ratnaike made 796 runs, took 28 wickets and 8 catches to be the dominant force in the local comp and was this week named in an all-star country line-up.
Members of the Victorian Country Cricket League Team Of The Year for 2014-15 are as follows: Kurt Brereton (Northern District CA) 770 runs at 51.30, Luke Jackson (Grenville CA) 690 runs at 62.73, 27 wickets at 9.44, Brad Scott (Sale/Maffra CA) 791 runs (87.89), 18 wkts @ 18.39, Amila Ratnaike (Leongatha District CA) 796 runs (88.40), 28 wkts @18.46, Gamini Kumara (Warragul District CA) 745 runs (93.13), 17 wkts @ 23.82, Luke Carter (Capt) (Murray Valley CA) 651 runs (93), 45 wkts @ 10.30, Scott Phillips (Mornington Peninsula CA) 519 runs (47.18) 51 wkts @ 10.39, Lance Watts (Gisborne DCA) 26/6 = 32 dismissals, 116 runs (16.57), Ashley Quinn (Murray Valley CA) 51 wkts @ 5.61, 389 runs @ 43.22, Matthew Bignell (South West Cricket) 38 wkts @ 13.58, 266 runs (19), Adam Decicco (Northern District CA) 50 wkts @ 7.72, 214 runs (30.57), and Richard Clark (Maryborough DCA) 53 wkts @ 7,85, 75 RUNS (7.50).
Eight regional teams of the year were originally forwarded to the VCCL to be considered for inclusion in the Victorian Country Cricket League team.
Members of the 2014-15 VCCL team will be acknowledged at a medallion presentation at the league’s annual general meeting in Melbourne on Sunday, August 2.
The process was adopted by the VCCL as a way of promoting country cricket and its better performers. It is also seen as a strategy to encourage VCCL selectors to become more familiar with the talented cricketers in all associations in their regions, not just in the major competitions.
“It is purely a statistical exercise. The VCCL team of the year is decided on the basis of total runs and wickets, the best averages and the most wicket-keeping dismissals. All other variables are discounted,” VCCL chairman of selectors Kelvin White said.