BEFORE the Allies, there had been a smaller, and briefer union that came with the merger of Devon and Welshpool.
Devon-Welshpool only lasted a few years before it merged with Won Wron-Woodside, but there was still time for a famous flag.
The 20 year reunion of Devon-Welshpool’s 1995 Alberton Football League premiership will be celebrated at Alberton West on Saturday, August 8 with the Allies playing Stony Creek.
On the Saturday night there is a catch up with 1995 premiership captain/coach Anthony Pavey at the Welshpool Pub.
Devon/Welshpool’s 1995 season began under the co-presidency of Alan Pearson and Donny McDonald, the merger happening just weeks prior to the commencement of the season.
The seniors were coach by current Yarram coach Anthony Pavey while the reserves were coached by former Yarram and Devon player and coach Noel Underwood.
The Welshpool and Devon merger resulted in a highly successful season, with the seniors, reserves and fourths football sides all playing off in the grand final.
It was the last season of the Alberton Football League as it was before the admittance of five Bass Valley clubs into the league.
The fourths grand final was played on the Sunday at Foster a week prior to the senior and reserves grand final.
The fourths, under the coaching of Jeremy Griffiths, went down to a bigger MDU.
The reserves were very unlucky going down in their grand final to Fish Creek by only five points. Devon/Welshpool captain Murray Francis was awarded BOG honours.
The senior game turned out to be just as close as the reserves match.
Devon/Welshpool’s opponents were reigning premiers Won Wron-Woodside. Devon/Welshpool, under the brilliant coaching and leadership of Pavey, defeated a fast finishing Won Wron Woodside by six points.
Final score: Devon Welshpool 11.8.74 d Won Wron Woodside 10.8.68.
Devon Welshpool best: Troy Underwood, Craig Olarenshaw, Anthony Pavey, Jason Reed, Craig Jennings, Justin Rendell.
Goals: Justin Rendell 5, Anthony Pavey 2, Duncan Phillby 2, Eddie Lithgow 1, Byron Smith 1.
Won Wron Woodside best: Niall Thompson, Ash Walpole, Damian Kerr, Henry Bergervoet, Steve Saynor, Craig Lawson.
Goals: Peter Anderson 3, Gary Jones 2, Dwayne Nicholas 2, Adrian Hall 1, Corey Janssen 1, Craig Lawson 1.