AFTER several months of attending clinics and practises at local and metropolitan courses, the final 10 players were named last week for the South Gippsland District Country Teams squad.
These players will spend three days in Melbourne playing against representatives from other Victorian country golfing districts.
South Gippsland is the smallest district playing at this event with only nine clubs from which to draw players.
Despite this, South Gippsland has managed to retain their position in Division 2 for several years.
There are three divisions, and each year districts are elevated or relegated from one division to another depending on their final ladder position.
Anne Walker, from Wonthaggi Golf Club is the team manager and has been instrumental in organising and preparing this squad.
The players, in handicap order are: Rebecca Thomas (Leongatha Golf Club, 6), Andrea Thorson (Meeniyan Golf Club, 7), Toni West (Leongatha Golf Club, 8), Robyn Galloway (Foster Golf Club, 8), Barb Warren (Foster Golf Club, 9), Faye Morris (Phillip Island Golf Club, 10), Lesley Meadowcroft (Phillip Island Golf Club, 10), Lee Clements (Korumburra Golf Club, 11), Jennifer Sullivan(Lang Lang Golf Club, 11) and Sharyn Rayson (Leongatha Golf Club, 11).
The caddies for these players, some of whom have also attended the practice sessions as observers, include Maxine Eabry (SGWGA president), Marg Tuckett (SGWGA match committee), Beth Curram, Debbie Williams, Norm Hughes, Marg Young and Maree Anderson.
The first round will be played at Rossdale Golf Club on Monday, August 24 followed by 18 holes at Woodlands on Tuesday and the final round at Victoria Golf Club on Wednesday.