INVERLOCH will have a dedicated Men’s Shed after the State Government provided a $60,000 grant to the organisation.
Member for Eastern Victoria Region, Harriet Shing said Inverloch was one of 15 successful Men’s Shed projects the government had announced will be built across Victoria as part of its $750,000 Men’s Shed grants round.
The grant for Inverloch will be used to build a new Men’s Shed at the Inverloch Recreation Reserve for the group who are now meeting in the community centre.
“Congratulations to the Inverloch shedders, this new funding will help provide a bright future for the group to continue their activities and benefit the whole community,” Ms Shing said.
The shedders were told of the news yesterday at their AGM.
“’Ecstatic’ is the word that best describes the news we received this morning,” president Julian Sellers said.
Grants writer and minutes secretary Jenny McDonald had kept under wraps all weekend the good news from State Government.
“It is anticipated that this much awaited event will start this year.
“We had our AGM this morning and when the new committee had been sworn in, Jenny gave us the wonderful news.
“The quorum erupted into loud applause as we were well aware of the amount of long hours that had been put into getting this submission to its final stage.”
The project has been prepared with extensive community consultation, and has plans to grow the involvement of local residents by building strong partnerships with other community organisations like the Bass Coast Shire Council.
Ms Shing said Men’s Sheds enhance the health and wellbeing of communities by reducing social isolation and promoting social inclusion.
“They are a safe and friendly space where locals can learn new skills, catch up with mates and give back to the community.
“I encourage everyone in the community to support the Men’s Shed project here in Inverloch.
“They will enable people to come together in a warm, welcoming, friendly and non-judgemental environment.
“Men’s Sheds facilitate the coming together of community, enable people to learn new skills and have a laugh at the same time.
The new committee is now president – Julian Sellers, treasurer – Russell Harbour and secretary Glenn Cant.
Committee members are Lex van Saane, Laurie Tuddin and Frank Deane.
They are all looking forward to an exciting year ahead and to having their own home.