TRACK season made a strong start with 18 riders taking part on a mild night which was great for cycling under the lights.
The Leongatha Cycling Club welcomed back Rob and Felicity Waddell from the Warragul Club and Paul and Boyd Makepeace from the Latrobe Valley club.
In addition, Graham Jans, Dane Herbert and Harry Herbert all had their first race night at the track.
With plenty of novices on the go it was a nervous night for the club referee however all the riders handled the racing really well and were able to enjoy the night.
The first race for the night was a one-lap time trial just to see how track fit all the riders were.
In the senior ranks Austin Timmins dialled in a 3173 sec lap to just beat Steve Allen on 31.89 sec; next best was Bernadette Fitzgerald 34.65, Grace McLean 35.15, just ahead of Paul Makepeace 35.45 sec.
Novices Graham Jans put in a respectful time of 35.99 just ahead of Dane Herbert 36.07 sec.
In the junior ranks Oliver McLean clocked 37.24 just ahead of Thomas Fitzgerald 38.31; then it was Kaleb Jans 41.10 narrowly ahead of Josh Wight 41.65 and Boyd Makepeace 42.05sec. This was just .01 sec better than Felicity Waddell 42.06sec. Rounding out the field was Jack Allen 43.08, Sulli Herbert 44.85 and Harry Herbert 45.40sec who is proving to be a real demon on the bike.
The riders then had scratch races.
The senior six-lap was won by Austin Timmins from Paul Makepeace and Steve Allen.
In the junior A four-lap race it was a win to Oliver Mclean from Thomas Fitzgerald and Kaleb Jans.
In the B Grade three-lap race Felicity Waddell took the win from Harry Herbert and Jack Allen.
The junior one-lap handicap saw Sulli Herbert on 60m take the win from a fast finishing scratch rider in Oliver McLean whilst brother Harry Herbert on 70m held on from a wall of riders for third place.
In the two-lap handicap, Thomas Fitzgerald on 35m quickly moved through the field to take an easy win; Oliver McLean (scr) again flew home for second whilst Kaleb Jans (50) won third.
In the senior field they were forced to ride two heats to make the final.
The final saw Graham Jans (75) take the win from Dane Herbert (60) with scratch rider Austin Timmins getting through for third.
The seniors who did not make the final raced a two-lap sprint derby and Grace McLean took the honours from Kevin Feely and Bernadette.
The juniors filled in the program with an elimination race at which Oliver Mclean saw off all the challengers to win from Thomas Fitzgerald and Kaleb Jans.
The sprint derby between Sulli and Harry saw Sulli take the win.
The night finished with scratch races.
The senior race over 10 laps saw Austin clear away from the bunch at the half way mark and solo his way to victory.
In the bunch sprint for the minor places it was Steve Allen taking second from Paul Makepeace in third.
In the junior six-lap scratch race Oliver McLean went on his winning ways with Thomas and Kaleb filling the minor places.
Weather permitting training will again be on Wednesday night at 6.30pm.
It is a great time for novices to come and try and join the others trying out.
There is a trio of boys from Korumburra finding their legs.
However, the club is keen for other girls to come and join in with the existing girls.
One of the regular female competitors is out of action this season after her horse rolled on her so the club would be really pleased to see some more girls come along.