LEONGATHA Cycling Club racing was held on Sunday morning from Pound Creek with a 9.30am start to racing.
For those riding to the start it meant a warm up ride across frosty country side with the thermometer at around zero degrees.
The morning did warm up to a pleasant sunny day when the seniors raced for the Lex Watt Memorial Trophy and the B Grade riders raced for the Watchorn Trophy.
The scratch duo of Austin Timmins and Thomas McFarlane had another duo – Harrison McLean and Steve Allen – on three minutes whilst on eight minutes there was a trio – Kevin Feely, Chris Rowe and Leigh Stott.
Out on a limit of 12 minutes there were a further three riders – Oliver McLean, Brad Bouquet and Bernadette Fitzgerald.
The riders faced two laps of the 24 kilometre circuit.
By the time the riders raced back round the corner from the Koonwarra Road back onto the Bass Highway the limit group had lost three minutes of their lead to the chasing trio whilst the back markers had closed up but not as markedly.
By the time they reached the same corner on the second lap the eight and 12 minute bunch were together and moving well but they only had around 30 seconds on the backmarker quartet and still had around eight kilometres to race.
Perhaps it was the Saturday race for Thomas McFarlane (he competed in the Melbourne-Ballarat Race) or perhaps it was a little more desperation by the limit riders but they reached the line about 100m ahead of the chasers.
In the dash to the line it was the limit trio who outsprinted the middle markers to claim the podium places.
Oliver McLean claimed the trophy from Bernadette Fitzgerald and Brad Bouquet.
Harrison McLean led the back markers in for seventh then it was Thomas McFarlane eighth and fastest time (1hr 20min).
The B Grade riders raced up and back on the Pound Creek Road twice for a 17 kilometre race.
Thomas Fitzgerald was back from his successful racing at the Eildon Junior tour and racing from scratch.
He was chasing 1.30 minutes to Kaleb Jans whilst out on three minutes 30 seconds was Zach Stubbs-Teylor, Jack Allen and Gregg Bradshaw.
With no wind to contest with, the limit group used their numbers to keep the pace steady and with a lack of commitment from the back markers it was again a limit rider bunch contesting for the Watchorn Trophy.
Zach showed his break from racing over the school holidays was no disadvantage as he scored his first win and a trophy as well.
A close second went to Greg Bradshaw whilst Jack Allen was third. Thomas Fitzgerald was fourth and fastest (36:58).
The club was expecting some more riders for the Sunday race however the Saturday morning training bunch ride suffered some mishaps with riders trying out the Chris Froome position for some down – hill descents.
Club members are reminded that there is a club meeting on Tuesday night at the RSL rooms.
Next Saturday also sees the club host the next round of the State Time Trial series at the Outtrim Reserve venue.
Club racing will start at 9am with the State series at 10am.
The afternoon will see members tackle the hillclimb dash up Mt Misery.
If riders are not racing the club would appreciate your help to run the racing.