Queensland’s Ryan Fitzgerald and Inverloch’s Josh Clottu sprint to the finish line in an entertaining finish to their race. rg390317

Phillip Island’s Luke Plant was the first local to cross the line and finished third overall in the Cape Aquathon, after a consistent swim and run leg. rg370317

Kara Landells won the female category and finished 15th overall. rg360317

Melbourne triathlete Nathan Buschkhuehl was the winner of the 2017 Cape Aquathon with a time of 22:30.2, 45 seconds ahead of his nearest rival. rg340317

Phillip Island’s Rob Fleisner manages a smile at the finish line after taking out the Veteran Male category and finishing eighth overall. rg280317

THE 2017 Cape Aquathon was a resounding success, with a near-record amount of competitors.
And the new run leg route received great feedback from competitors, after the distance was increased from 3.5km to 4.4km this year.
Cape Paterson SLSC president Dean Manns said it was a very successful event.
“The highest amount of competitors we’ve had was 168 and we had 163 today,” he said.
“We’ve had some really positive feedback about the run leg, with a change of scenery around the track on the clifftops, up along Surf Beach road and up through the Cape Village was great.
“The swim leg this year, saw a bit of a wave coming through and lower tide made it a bit more challenging, it was a pretty decent swim that we set today.
“It was challenging conditions but safe, so we made sure it was a full 400m.”
Melbourne triathlete Nathan Buschkhuehl was first to cross the line, after giving up a 53-second lead in the swim leg to runner-up Brenton Ford who was first out of the water.
He ran a sizzling 14:34 run leg to finish the race with a time of 22:30.2, 45 seconds ahead of Ford.
Phillip Island’s Luke Plant finished a further nine seconds behind in third as the first local male to cross the line, followed by fellow local Mark Rowe in fourth.
Local Kara Landells won the female category and finished 15th overall.
In the team category, Lachie Connell and Hamish Harrison recorded the best time of the day with 22:18.
The next event of the Bass Coast Summer Series is the Channel Challenge on Saturday February 11, consisting of a 550m swim across the San Remo channel to Newhaven before a 2km run back over the bridge to San Remo.
Results: Overall winners: Male – Nathan Buschkhuehl, Female – Kara Landells. Overall local winners: Male – Luke Plant, Female – Kara Landells. Junior winners: Male – Kai Lumsden, Female – Bridget Cann. Masters: Male – Marcus Bond, Female – Emma Moore. Veterans: Male – Rob Fleisner, Female – Janice Stephens. Team winners: Male – swimmer Hamish Harrison/runner Lachie Connell, Female – swimmer Bernadette Spinks/runner Brianna Spinks, Mixed – swimmer Cara Humbert/runner Mitch Viney.

Icing on the cake for surf lifesaving club
The success of the Cape Aquathon capped off a record breaking season for the Cape Paterson SLSC.
The club has seen a record number of 195 Nippers and the club’s membership has hit a record 525 members.
“It’s been a big celebration around the club breaking the 500 mark, and seeing the numbers here today is great,” Manns said.
“It’s been such a fantastic season and I’d like to thank all the sponsors of the event for their support.”
The Cape Aquathon is a major fundraiser for the Cape Paterson SLSC and with the club working hard to raise funds towards a new clubhouse, the club is looking for any support it can get.
Dean welcomes local businesses to jump on board as sponsors of the club, or individuals looking to donate to the project can email Dean at president@cpslsc.org.au or visit www.capepatersonslsc.org/building-donations for more details.