• A Grade Division 1

Korumburra’s Pierre Dunlevie played his role, showing the full face of the bat to the ball as he tried to hold up an end late in the game against Inverloch. M420417

A FINE 83 from Mitch Thomas has set the foundations for Wonthaggi Club to post a competitive total of 9/283 against Leongatha Town in A Grade Division One at Scorpion Park Turf.
The return to two-day cricket saw opener Sam Huitema and Thomas combine for a second-wicket partnership of 130, which went a long way to putting Club in a strong position on day one.
Huitema was eventually caught for 60 including 11 fours, and Thomas stuck around a little longer before he was caught and bowled by Madura Weerasinghe.
Weerasinghe finished with 3/69 off 22 overs, while Amila Ratnaike claimed 3/64 off 17 overs.
Adam Miller’s 60 helped OMK to a defendable total of 9/210 against Nerrena at Leongatha Turf.
Further contributions from Alex Rose (39) and Nathan Cant (28 not out) gave the Diggers a chance of a win this week.
Josh Trease was the pick of the Red Cap bowlers with 3/42 off 25 overs, Adam Torro grabbed 3/42 off 14 overs and Jarrod Hoy picked up 3/48 off 17 overs.
The match between Korumburra and Inverloch at Inverloch Turf is evenly poised, after Korumburra was bowled out for 189 in 73 overs.
Inverloch’s Ryan Thomas led the way with the ball, snaring 4/31 off 16 overs, while Ben Thomas snagged 2/51 off 21 overs including six maidens.
Captain Michael Giles’ 61 including nine fours was an important knock, while Kyle Dorman’s 38 through the middle order helped the Cobras’ cause.
Phillip Island has the edge over Kilcunda-Bass at Cowes, with Kilcunda-Bass restricted to 9/139 batting first.
The visitors’ top order struggled to make an impact, with Daniel Mock (26), Jack Rosenow (26) and James Mahood (18 not out) the only batsmen to get a start.
Charith Keerthisinghe bowled a very tidy 23 overs, claiming 3/31 including 10 maidens, while Geoff Odgers was also economical with 2/15 off 11 overs including six maidens.
A1 results: Leongatha Town v Club (9/283 M Thomas 83 S Huitema 60 J Wallace 28 A Ratnaike 3/64 MP Weerasinghe Silva 3/69) at Scorpion Park Turf.
Kilcunda Bass (9/139 DP Mock 26 J Rosenow 26 C Keerthisinghe 3/31 G Odgers 2/15 M Dennerley 2/34) v Phillip Island at Bass Recreation Reserve.
Nerrena v Outtrim Moyarra Kongwak (9/210 A Miller 60 A Rose 39 N Cant 28* J Trease 3/42 AL Trotto 3/42 J Hoy 3/48) at Leongatha Turf.
Inverloch v Korumburra 189 (M Giles 61 K Dorman 38 RB Thomas 4/31 B Thomas 2/51) at Inverloch Turf.

Poynton six inspires Poowong-Loch

• A Grade Division 2

Poowong-Loch’s Colin Knox tries to break the productive partnership between Jeff Reid (facing) and Jamie Glenn (non-striker) but all the action was going on at the other end where Jordan Poynton took 6/32. m350417

A SIX-WICKET haul from Jordan Poynton had given Poowong-Loch the ascendency over Glen Alvie in A Grade Division Two at Butch West Oval.
Glen Alvie won the toss and batted first but was quickly in trouble when opener Steve Smith was bowled for one by Al Jenkins.
Poynton quickly joined in the fun, removing Pete Roberts and John Reid in quick succession to have the home side in trouble at 3/29.
Jamie Glen and Jeff Reid set about rebuilding the innings with a 92-run partnership for the fourth wicket, before Poynton struck again to remove Glen for 58.
He continued to wreak havoc for the Glen Alvie batsmen, bowling David Hales and having Jeff Reid (37) and Ray Slade caught shortly after.
He finished with impressive figures of 6/32 off 14 overs including five maidens.
Glen Alvie was bowled out for 159 after 62 overs.
Poowong-Loch batted for 12 overs and will resume at 0/15 this week.
A solid 134-run partnership between Sam Hughes and Ben Perry has put Koonwarra-Leongatha/RSL in contention after day one at Wonthaggi Recreation Reserve.
The Cougars reached 9/262 at the end of 75 overs.
Run machine Hughes fell short of his second century for the season, trapped lbw by Jayden Loos for 88 including 14 fours.
Perry was the perfect sidekick with a
patient 55.
Later contributions from Jack Hughes (32) and Brad Anderson (34 not out) helped strengthen the total.
Adam Hall bowled a marathon 25 overs, picking up 3/77 for the Miners, while Adam Honeyset snared 3/48 off 12 overs.
MDU has stitched up a win on day one after a strong performance with bat and ball against Foster at Dumbalk.
A brilliant team bowling performance set up the win for the Demons, who bowled out the Tigers for 119 in the 42nd over.
Nick Eddy led the way with 3/25 off 12 overs and Darien Mathews cleaned up the tail with 3/14 off 6.2 overs.
Graeme Watkins (36) offered a little resistance with the bat in an otherwise disappointing display by Foster.
The Demons powered on to a big victory, with opener Gary Webster setting the tone with 77 including nine fours.
They reached 4/158 off 33 overs and will be striving for an outright win on day two.
A2 results: Glen Alvie 159 (J Glen 58 JR Reid 37 J Poynton 6/32 AC Jenkins 2/23) v Poowong Loch 0/15 at Butch West Oval.
MDU 4/158 (G Webster 77 M Martin 25 D Lacasa 2/47) v Foster 119 (G Watkins 36 DA Mathews 3/14 N Eddy 3/25 M Cantwell 2/22) at Dumbalk.
Wonthaggi Miners v Koonwarra L/RSL (9/262 S Hughes 88 B Perry 55 B Anderson 34* J Hughes 32 A Honeysett 3/48 A Hall 3/77) at Wonthaggi Football Ground.
Imperials – BYE.

20-20 finals this Sunday

• A Grade 20-20

The T20 A grade Knockout Competition finishes this Sunday, January 29 with the finals being held.
Match-ups are as follows:
• Semi Final 1 Town v OMK played at Scorpion Park
• Semi Final 2 Korumburra v Club played at Leongatha Rec
The semi-finals start at 10.30am.
The grand final between the two winning teams will be played at Scorpion Park beginning at 1.30pm.
For the semi-finals teams will need to supply their own white ball.
The LDCA will supply and pay for one umpire at the Semi Finals. Teams do square leg.
The LDCA will supply and pay for two umpires at the Grand Final. The balls for the grand final will also be supplied and paid by the LDCA.
The winning team of the grand final will receive the perpetual shield, $500 prize money in a cheque. A ‘Player of the Final’ shirt will also be presented after the grand final.