SOUTH Gippsland dairy farmer and GippsDairy chair, Graeme Nicoll, has been appointed to the Dairy Australia Board after being nominated by the Board Selection Committee.
Mr Nicoll, from Fish Creek, fills the casual vacancy position which has arisen out of the resignation of former board member Lisa Dwyer at last year’s AGM.
Mr Nicoll will occupy the role until this year’s AGM in November, with the position to be re-advertised in the middle of this year.
The Board Selection Committee will then nominate a candidate for the role who will stand for election at the AGM.
A successful dairy farmer for 20 years, Mr Nicoll brings vast experience across many facets of the industry.
In 2010 he was awarded a Nuffield Scholarship, with which he studied a wide range of dairy farming systems across the world.
Mr Nicoll, who milks about 300 cows with wife Gillian, has been a GippsDairy Board member for five years, serving almost 18 months as chair and two years as deputy chair.
He also served three years as a member of the Operations and Risk Committee of the GippsDairy Board, two of which were as chair.
Mr Nicoll has also been an active member of the United Dairy Farmers of Victoria.
“I’m looking forward to being part of the Dairy Australia Board,” Mr Nicoll said.
“I am passionate about quality leadership and I believe a collaborative approach is critical to the success of the dairy industry.”
In taking up the casual directorship, Mr Nicoll has stepped down as GippsDairy chair.
Dairy Australia chair Geoff Akers said he was pleased to welcome Graeme as a new director to the board.
“Graeme brings a number of skills, a great understanding of the dairy industry and a wide-reaching network of contacts which will be of value to the Dairy Australia Board,” Mr Akers said.
Letters inviting applications for the position were sent to all levy payers when Mrs Dwyer announced her resignation in November last year.
The Dairy Australia Board Selection Committee is comprised of industry representatives – two from Australian Dairy Farmers (ADF) and two from Australian Dairy Products Federation (ADPF) and is chaired by Geoff Akers.
This year the ADF nominees were Simone Jolliffe and Terry Richardson, while the ADPF nominees were John Williams (Saputo) and Nicola Richardson (Lion).