B Grade winners, left, Lyn Perks and Betty Thomson (Korumburra), with runners-up Jan Beaumont and Leonie Bentick (Wonthaggi).

A LARGE field of 64 players in 32 teams competed at the South Gippsland Women’s Golf Association Opening Day at Korumburra Golf Club last week.
This event is sponsored annually by Handley and Anderson Funeral Directors of Wonthaggi and a lovely assortment of plants was provided for the winners.
All clubs in the district, from Welshpool in the east to Phillip Island in the west, were well represented.
The winners of the A Grade event were Toni West and Jocelyn Howson from Leongatha Golf Club, with 45 points, on a countback from Elly Berryman and Heather Sullivan from Woorayl Golf Club, who took the runners-up trophies.
B Grade was won by Korumburra’s Lyn Perks and Betty Thomson, carding a lovely 48 points, with Leonie Bentick and Jan Beaumont from Wonthaggi scoring the runners-up trophies with their 45 points.
Rhonda Boyd, from Phillip Island Golf Club, won nearest the pin on the 1st hole, Wendy Parker from Leongatha Golf Club was closest on the 13th, Dot Christie (Meeniyan) came close to the pin on the extremely hard-to-reach 7th and Colleen Touzel’s first shot towards the difficult 10th was closer than all others.
Down the line balls were won by Jan Hewitt and Pam Eyers, Jenny Blackmore and Chris Rickard, Faye Quilford and Sue Bowler, all with 44 points; Beth Curram and Trudi Prue, Barb Warren and Gail Tyers, with 43 points; Viv Enbom and Lorraine Knox with 41 points.
The South Gippsland Women’s Golf Association executive extends thanks to the Korumburra Golf Club for hosting the 2017 Opening Day, with particular thanks to new captain, Heather Grist, president Kath Welsh and her committee, for all the organising and work involved.
A reminder to players that the next district event will be the SGWGA Bowl at Leongatha Golf Club, on April 7.