THE West Gippsland and Gippsland League interleague  football and netball squads have been finalised ahead of this Saturday’s Worksafe Community Championships.

West Gippsland will face Riddell and District Football Netball League in its first foray in interleague at Macedon’s Tony Clarke Reserve.

League leading goalkicker Nathan Langley (Cora Lynn) and experienced campaigner Jaymie Youle (Phillip Island) headline the side, while promising young stars Michael Marotta (Dalyston) and Jack Taylor (Phillip Island) also made final the cut.

Coach Tom McQualter was confident the side was suitably equipped to succeed at Macedon on Saturday.

“The numbers we’ve had on the track at the first two training sessions has been extremely encouraging and the quality of players we’ve had to pick from has been fantastic as well,” McQualter said.

“We feel we’ve got a great blend of height, speed and positional flexibility that should make us pretty hard to match up on across the ground.

“The average age of our side is less than 25 years so there will be plenty enthusiasm and it’s also a great sign for the future of representative footy in this competition.”

Open netball team coach Christie Hillberg has also named a strong side ahead of Saturday’s clash at Macedon’s Tony Clarke Reserve, featuring plenty of premiership and representative netball experience.

The day kicks off with under 18 football at 11.45am, followed by 17 and under netball at 12.30pm and the open netball and senior football at 2.30pm.

Senior football squad: Jason Fisher, Joel Gibson, Michael Whyte (Bunyip), Nathan Gillis, Ryan Gillis, Jeremy Monckton, Nathan Langley, Tim Payne, Billy Thomas (Cora Lynn), Blake Carew, Michael Marotta, Clay Tait (Dalyston), Daniel Helmore (Garfield), Corey Casey, Toby Mahoney, Tom Wyatt (Inverloch- Kongwak), Nathan Voss (Koo Wee Rup), Michael Cooke (Korumburra- Bena), Matt Stevens (Nar Nar Goon), Mark Griffin, Jack Taylor, Jarrod Witnish and Jaymie Youle (Phillip Island).

Open netball squad: Meaghan Musgrave, Lou Walsh (Cora Lynn), Britt Thomas (Dalyston), Gemma Dixon, Christie Hillberg (coach), Kimberley Hillberg, Annaliese Van Rooye (Korumburra-Bena), Shannon Johns and Georgia Keysers (Nar Nar Goon).

17 and under netball squad: Tyra Schade (Cora Lynn), Hannah Carew, Alana McRae, Hayley Verboon (Dalyston), Sophie Bolam, Alex Burke (Inverloch-Kongwak), Natasha Bindley (Koo Wee Rup), Chloe Hogg, Ellie Holmes and Shae Kyle (Korumburra-Bena).

The West Gippsland under 18 football final squad will be announced on Thursday.


Gippsland tackles Yarra Ranges


Gippsland League senior interleague football coach Harmit Singh has named a strong line-up for Saturday’s showdown with AFL Yarra Ranges.

The league’s representative team travels to Woori Yallock Recreation Reserve stocked with plenty of firepower, including AFL Victoria Country representatives Bob McCallum and Mark Collison, ex-AFL star Damian Cupido and reigning league best and fairest Brad Scalzo.

Saturday’s senior football kicks off at 2.20pm, following the under 18 football curtain-raiser at 11.50am, while on the netball courts, the open game starts at 12.40pm, with the 17 and under netball starting at 11.30am.

Senior football squad: Russell Cowan, Damian Cupido (Bairnsdale), Bob McCallum (Drouin), Chris Dunne, Aaron Hillberg, Tom Marriott, Cade Maskell, Zak Vernon (Leongatha), Daniel Bedggood, Mitch Bennett (Maffra), Tyson Biffin (Moe), Ryan Tatterson, Ryan Hearn (Morwell), Jack Lipman (Sale), Ben Amberg, Mark Collison, Jackson Hall, Haydn Hector Michael Jacobson, Matt Northe, Tim Northe, Adrian Slottje (Traralgon), Nate Paredes and Brad Scalzo (Warragul).

Under 18 football squad: Glen Perkins, Darcy McKendry, Charlie Mein, Jordan Ray (Bairnsdale), Lochlan Scott, Jacob Patullo (Vice captain), Jordan Hill, Jordan Patullo, Cam Olden, Dylan Garnham (Leongatha), Rhys Anderson, Hayden Prestidge (Captain), Alex Skinner, Josh Galea, Jay Murphy (Moe), Will Kennedy, Anthony Rosato (Morwell), Justin Barnes, Tom Northe, Matt Williams (Vice Captain), Hayden Willaton, Darcy Barnes, Luke Johnson (Traralgon) and Jedd Serong (Warragul).

Open netball squad to be selected from: Christie Edwards, Stacie Gardiner, April Bethune, Kym Diston, Jessie Hedley (Drouin), Montana Holmes, Jayde Travers (Moe), Courtney Garth, Rachel Allison, Claire Allison (Morwell), Ramayer Gourley, Allison Petrou, Stacey O’Brien, Taylin Gourley, Daisy Hill (Traralgon) and Courtney Blair (Wonthaggi Power).

17 and under netball squad: Renee Barry (Bairnsdale), April Bethune (Drouin), Emma Allman, Emerson Connolly, Leyla Berry (Maffra), Charlize Bird (Moe), Chelsea Livingstone, Traxareq Hanratty and Lily Van Berkel (Traralgon).