Leongatha Cycling Club’s Bernadette Fitzgerald nails last Saturday’s course after rushing to get there from work.

SATURDAY was a busy day for Leongatha Cycling Club officials as the club conducted the State Individual Time Trial Titles for seniors and masters riders, as well as running the club time trial titles. The racing was held at Kernot from 12.30pm on a cold and windy winter day. Fortunately, however, the rain stayed away so it was a much better day than last year for the event. In total there were 77 entries.
The senior club title was run over 20km, racing from Kernot toward Loch and turning 400m before the highway. Much of the course is reasonably exposed to the wind, so riders on their time trial bikes had to be careful not get blown around. In a close battle, Brett Franklin clocked the best time at 28 minutes and 10 seconds, averaging just on 42 kilometres per hour. Will Lumby came in 2nd, just 16 seconds adrift, whilst Harrison McLean was 3rd at 30.12 minutes. The big improver for this season, Damien King, was 4th at 31.26 minutes. Anthony Mitchell was 6th, in 32.05 minutes, followed by Morgan Barnes, in 32.14, Phil Hanley, 32.37, Gavin Slavin, 33.05, Leigh Stott, 34.13, and Alex Welsh in 35.44 minutes.
In the junior race, over 12 kilometres, Oliver McLean raced home in 19.44 minutes, at 37.7 kilometres per hour. He was followed by Thomas Fitzgerald, in 20.16, Kobi Merchant, 21.50, and Kaleb Jans at 26.16 minutes.
In the Women’s section over the 20km course it was Bernadette Fitzgerald, rushing from work just in time to race, who was quickest in 36.05 minutes. Kerry Fitzgerald was next in 45.02 and Felicity Waddell just behind in 45.36 minutes.
Alex Welsh followed his first effort an hour later with a ride in the state event, and he managed a time of 35.31 minutes. This was a touch quicker and way in front of the other hand cyclist competing. There were other disabled cyclists competing in other divisions as well as elite cyclists. The quickest riders on the day were in the 25 minute mark.
Next weekend’s racing will be at Pound Creek, for the McIndoe Cup. This will be over two laps of the circuit and is run as a scratch race event.