ONE of the premier events on the Leongatha Women’s golf program is the annual Open Ambrose Fours Shield which was played on Friday, June 1.
A large field of 84 players, including 15 teams from 12 visiting clubs competed.
All nine South Gippsland clubs entered teams plus teams from Yarra Yarra, Traralgon, Devil Bend and Gardiners Run were welcomed.
This event was sponsored by LGC member Evelyn Indian for the 18th year.
Evelyn provided all the trophies for the day.
She also provided the down the line balls, nearest the pin prizes and multiple raffle draws. The club is very appreciative to Evelyn for her continued generous support.
The weather was magnificent and the course a credit to Dennis McDonald, in charge of the course while Dylan is on leave.
Winners of the Ambrose Shield were the Foster 1. The team of Robyn Galloway, Beth Curram, Fiona Curram and Yolande Forte were clear winners with a net score of 59.25 and will hold the shield until next year.
Runners-up were the Leongatha 2 team of Toni West, Sue Bowler, Melinda Martin and Helen Mackenzie with a net score of 63.50
The visitor’s trophy was won by Yarra Yarra, this year represented by Andree Leigh, Jenny Cox, Karan Smith and Debra Thurlow who won this event with a nett score of 64.375.
Down the line balls: Leongatha 1 64.375, Phillip Island 65.5, Meeniyan 2 65.875, Leongatha 4 65.875 & Leongatha 6 67.125.