Imperials all-rounder Luke Rogers hits a six high over long off in the closing stages of the Twenty20 grand final at Scorpion Park. N210719

Umpire Graham Wightman congratulates Lahiru (Larry) Jayakody on his man of the match performance. N200719

LEONGATHA Town has taken the first trophy for the season, claiming the Twenty20 title in a local derby against Imperials.
It’s not often two A2 teams reach the grand final. In fact, three of the four teams in action on Sunday (semis were earlier in the day) were from A2, with the Imps rolling Koonwarra-Leongatha RSL to reach the big dance. The Scorpions comfortably defeated Phillip Island in the other semi.
The Scorpions, on their home deck, batted first in the final and made a steady start with Matt Davies leading the way until his hammy tightened. He was out LBW not long after.
Lachie Wright bowled well claiming both openers and conceding just 14 runs from his four overs.
Lahiru Jayakody picked up the pace in the Town innings belting an unbeaten 46 from 34 balls including two sixes while Madura Madusanka made a classy 36 from 34 to take the Scorpions to 5/143.
The Imperials’ run chase started disastrously when Tim Sauvarin was bowled by James Lloyd in the first over.
Sahan Perera kept things tight with his tweakers and also took important wickets.
The Imps couldn’t get a partnership going and never threatened, all out for 85 in 17.1 overs.
Luke Rogers did his best with an unbeaten 25 from 23 deliveries.
The game, between the top two A2 sides was played in excellent spirit according to umpire Graham Wightman.
The two teams will be vying the A2 flag and promotion to A1.
Town’s Twenty20 captain Amila Ratnaike said as much when he accepted the shield.
He made special mention of the close family-like atmosphere at the club, and how everyone is pulling in the one direction.