GIPPSLAND’S version of the T20 Kookaburra Cup has been won by the Wonthaggi Club Cricket Club after a keenly contested match against Boisdale-Briagolong on Sunday, December 15.
Making the most of home ground knowledge, Wonthaggi won the toss and decided to bat first.
A slow wicket meant that anything pitched short sat up waving a “hit me” sign with the Club batsmen happy to oblige.
The medium pacers were going for between five and eight an over and a score of 150 was a possibility after 10 overs had been bowled but the introduction of some slower bowlers towards the end of the innings, which denied the batsmen pace on the ball, slowed things down and the final score ended at 130 for 7.
That score included 11 boundaries on the big ground and a disappointing 23 sundries.
Best scorers for Club, Mitch Thomas made 42, James Sheerin 29 and Ryan Thomas 17.
For Boisdale-Briagolong, Kal Randle and Liam Hurst picked up two wickets each.
Randle, Mitch Leeds and Louis Howard all had economy rates of five or less per over, sometimes more valuable than wickets in these matches.
In response, Boisdale-Briagolong started a little slowly but did not lose a wicket until 60 runs had been knocked off the target.
Rob Entwistle was first to go with a well-made 38 beside his name.
That was the last decent partnership until the unbroken sixth wicket pairing put on 27.
Toby Leeds scored 27 while Liam Hurst smashed a quick 18 not out from no. 7 but his entry was too late to pull the Saints out of the hole they dug themselves into between overs 12 to 17.
The Boisdale-Briagolong innings only included six boundaries and a miserly eight sundries.
For Club, Ryan Birkett was the pick of the bowlers with 3 for 21 and an economy rate just above five.
Joel Brann also bowled four overs with just 15 runs conceded.
Boisdale-Briagolong finished on 118 for 5.
Mitch Thomas was named the Man of the Match.