By Sam Watson

LEONGATHA Town has won the LDCA 2020/21 T20 knockout tournament in comprehensive fashion.

After beating Nerrena in the semi-final earlier in the day, Town met OMK who had just knocked off the Leongatha Imperials.

Town and OMK have been the two best teams in A1 this year and that form translated to the T20 format.

After winning three games to get to the final, both teams were desperate to make sure it wouldn’t be a waste of time and effort.

The final was played at Scorpion Park, giving Town the home-ground advantage.

OMK won the toss and opened the batting with Ryan Williams and captain Daniel Mock.

Mock could only manage six runs, but Williams was in good touch.

He would go on to make 34 but after he was caught out, Town got back in control of the game.

Between overs eight and 13, OMK made just seven runs and Town was putting the pressure on.

Tom Wyatt 37 and Adam Miller 35 were eventually able to get going and they helped OMK to a final total of 7/130.

Jack Hume had amazing figures picking up 2/6 off his four overs.

Runs can flow pretty quickly at Scorpion Park, so OMK knew they’d have to bowl extremely well to be in with a chance.

Sahan Perera and Amila Ratnaike opened the batting for Town and when OMK were able to catch Ratnaike for 16, the door to victory was slightly ajar.

But Perera and Ron Abbeysinghe slammed the door shut.

The two would put on 98 runs and get Town over the line in the 18th over.

Abbeysinghe finished on 36* and Perera’s unbeaten 68 earned him man of the match honours.

After winning the A2 flag in 2019 and the A1 flag in 2020, the T20 shield will have a bit of company in the Town trophy cabinet.

And if they continue their current form, there’s a big chance another A1 trophy will be joining them in March.


Full cricket coverage in this weeks edition of the South Gippsland Sentinel-Times.
To subscribe to our digital edition: