By Sam Watson

THE Gippsland League has taken its next step towards self-governance, officially electing a board of eight to lead the league now that they are removed from AFL Gippsland administration.

The eight members, who were elected on Monday night by a steering committee including club representatives, will form the new board of governance at the AGM in November.

Bass Coast Shire Mayor Cr Brett Tessari is one of the eight new board members, who will be hoping to progress the biggest football netball league in Gippsland.

Tessari was also the president at Wonthaggi Power for six years, making his credentials as good as any on the board.

The seven other board members are Stuart Dalton, Shane Paynter, Andrew Livingstone, Dean Benson, Duane Rek, Jodi Galea, and Ian Dougherty.