By Sam Watson

LEONGATHA’S Nicola Marriott and Wonthaggi’s Jess McRae have both been selected in the Gippsland League’s netball team of the year.

McRae was the only Wonthaggi player to be selected, but Marriott was also joined by Hannah Flanders and Lauren Redpath who were named on the bench.

Marriott, who won the league best and fairest alongside Christie Hillberg, was named in the centre in the team of the year.

Funnily enough, centre’s the same position her brother Tom was named in, in the football team of the year.

Marriott had a terrific year once again for the Parrots, leading their A Grade side to a second-place finish, only one win behind Moe.

She’s quickly become the most revered midcourt players in the league, using her pace and athleticism to either pick off passes or make clever ones.

Flanders had a brilliant year in goals for the Parrots, earning a spot in the team of the year, as did Redpath up the other end of the court.

Since arriving from Fish Creek, Flanders has become one of the Parrots most reliable contributors, often scoring plenty of goals or setting up her teammates for them.

Her outstanding year was also recognised on the vote count night, finishing just one vote behind Marriott and Hillberg.

And Redpath has been as dependable as they come in defence for Leongatha, proving to be one of the toughest opponents to score goals on and get passes past.

After coming to Wonthaggi Power to follow her partner Jarryd Blair, McRae, a Dalyston netballing champion, had a super-consistent year.

Her ability to run all day in the midcourt left opponents in a spin, and she had no issues on the court after adding a bit of teal to the black and white running through her veins.

Her efforts weren’t only rewarded with a selection in the wing attack position, but she also finished fifth in the league vote count, only two votes behind Marriott and Hillberg.

Hillberg, a former Korumburra Bena superstar, was named in Goal Defence after another ripping year at Warragul.

Leongatha led the way with three selections, minor premiers Moe had two, as did Warragul.

And Drouin, Maffra, Morwell, Traralgon, and Wonthaggi all had one, with just Bairnsdale and Sale missing out on a selection.

The full team can be seen on the Gippsland League’s Facebook page.