Stephen Martin adds another run to Nerrena’s score. Ns131222

Nerrena’s Brian Gannon put on an impressive performance, scoring 101 runs against Koonwarra. Ns121222









By Sam Watson

• C Grade, Division 1

NERRENA’S Brian Gannon has led his side to a premiership, making an unbeaten century at the top of the order against Koonwarra L/RSL.

Nerrena captain Michael Croatto won the toss and elected to bat at Meeniyan Recreation Reserve, with Gannon and Gerard Murphy heading out to open the innings.

Gannon and Murphy were off to a hot start, and their 77-run opening partnership came to an end when Murphy was caught out on 34.

But Gannon kept going and he was then joined by James Kelly who added a solid 22.

After Kelly was bowled, Stephen Martin joined Gannon and they were working very nicely towards the back end of the innings.

Gannon eventually reached his century and after 40 overs Martin finished on 30 not out, helping Nerrena make 2/205 in 40 overs.

With the game slipping away from them, Koonwarra captain and opener Anthony Hunt started nicely, but when he was caught and bowled by Tadgh Gannon on 20, the game was all but gone.

Gannon would go on to take two more wickets, finishing with 3/32 off eight overs, and it was Mitch Croatto who really ripped through their batters, taking 4/23 off eight.

Paris Buckley 23* fought hard as Nerrena closed in on the premiership, but the game finished when Billy Trotman took the last wicket, getting Koonwarra all out for 129 in the 32nd over.

After finishing on top of the ladder, the 76-run win caps off a brilliant season for Nerrena, a one in which they only lost two games out of 14.

Macmillans make good for Phillip Island Blue

Phillip Island C2 take away the premiership for 2022. The team included John Manning, Gavin Excell, Peter Francis, Wade Patterson, Michael Cleary, Max Arceo, Chris Fall, Jon Parry, John Johnston, Luke Marshall, Connor MacMillan and Thomas MacMillan.

Jason Cooper of Kilcunda/Bass. Z15_1222

Phillip Island’s John Manning. Z16_1222

Phillip Island’s Connor and Thomas Macmillian. Z19_1222

• C Grade, Division 2

CONNOR and Tom Macmillan have bowled Phillip Island Blue to a C2 premiership, ripping through Kilcunda Bass’ top and middle order at Wonthaggi Recreation Reserve.

Kilcunda Bass captain Neil Grant won the toss and chose to bat, hoping they could start well in their bid to post a competitive total.

But Phillip Island gained the upper hand early, with Connor Macmillan dismissing both openers early in the game.

However Praneeth Panduka began batting beautifully at first drop, and Phillip Island’s bowlers were suddenly being put to the test.

Panduka eventually got to his half century, but the Phillip Island bowlers kept probing, and his teammates struggled massively.

After Connor Macmillan got two early wickets, Tom Macmillan stepped up, taking two quick wickets in the middle order, and giving his side a firm grip on the game.

And his third wicket came when Connor caught Panduka on 77, getting Kilcunda Bass to 6/120.

Before their 40 overs were up, Kilcunda Bass’ worked their way to 7/144, and the match was still in the balance.

Phillip Island opener John Manning kept Phillip Island’s momentum going with a solid 46 and then the two knocks of Peter Francis 25 and Wade Paterson 23 brought them very close to Kilcunda Bass’ total.

Kilcunda Bass’ bowlers fought back hard, and they were resolute in the field, not letting many easy runs get through, but Phillip Island eventually got the job done with 10 balls to spare, winning by four wickets.

The grand final win caps off a brilliant season for Phillip Island Blue, who finished on top of the C2 ladder and will likely make the move to C1 next year.